I AM SO HAPPY!!!!

9-7-15

Oh my gosh, everyone – I got to go to my first baptism as a missionary on Saturday!! As a missionary on Temple Square, usually the only baptisms you see are the ones that your investigators send you pictures of, so going to a baptism was seriously the best!! We took the cutest family around on Friday, and then they invited us to the baptism. Their names are Christian and Tatianna. Christian is 11 and Tatianna is 8. Their mom just passed away in June and the dad is less active! They are all going to church and working towards getting sealed in the temple soon!! SO exciting!! I’ll add pictures! Anyways, it was soooo good to actually see a baptism, and not just teach and teach and teach and hope things happen, but actually see what missionary work is all about!

Now onto Temple Square…
So Tuesday, Sister Smith and I had a flagpole tour. That just means that at a certain time of day there is always a group tour starting at the flagpole, and we have it on Tuesdays. Anyways, we take this group of like 15 people, and this one guy is just SO anti. He was just asking the most ridiculous questions, and he was really making me mad. I haven’t taken an anti on a tour yet, because usually they are out of the gates, but this one came in for a tour. The other guests on the tour loved everything about what we were sharing, but every time the anti would talk, the Spirit was just gone. If you guys know me well enough, you can probably just imagine my face when this guy was asking questions. I just gave him my Abby face, and that was that. He didn’t ask any more anti questions hahah. I just had to do it. I couldn’t handle his ignorant questions anymore.

We went to the Temple Tuesday morning. I seriously love going to the Temple, especially because now I understand how much work and dedication went into building it! But being at the Temple makes me feel like I’m at home. So nice.

Speaking of home, so many people have been coming here from South Carolina!! The other day, I was talking to this couple, and they were talking about how they drove down Langford Rd like the day before. I was like NOOOOO that’s where I live!! But it also makes me happy to just talk about home. Seriously South Carolina is the freakinnnn best!

The whole Michigan football team was here the other day since they were playing University of Utah. Hey Ry, are you glad the Utes won?! Anyway, the whole huge football team was just walking around the Square haha.

So our investigators still haven’t been answering the phone, so we are really trying to just find new investigators from Square, which is pretty hard sometimes!! One thing that I love about the mission though, is just because you don’t have a lot of investigators, I am learning more and more for myself each day. That is the best part! I can’t imagine my life now without serving a mission. I have learned so much and truly developed an appreciation for the gospel, that I don’t think I would have if I wasn’t serving a mission now. I seriously just love my mission. I love the good parts, I love the hard parts, I love it all!

During personal study this week, I was reading in Mosiah, which is one of my favorite books in the BoM. Anyways, I just love this verse from there. “And I will also ease the burdens which are put upon your shoulders, that even you cannot feel them upon your backs, even while you are in bondage; and this will I do that ye may stand as witnesses for me hereafter, and that ye may know of a surety that I, the Lord God, do visit my people in their afflictions”. I just love this verse. It is so comforting to me to know that I am never alone!

I was reading a talk by President Thomas S. Monson this week and I loved this part of the talk. He said –

“Sometimes we let our thoughts of tomorrow take up too much of today. Daydreaming of the past and longing for the future may provide comfort but will not take the place of living in the present. This is the day of our opportunity, and we must grasp it”.

I think that is really good for a mission. We need to make each day count!

I love my mission. I love my Savior. I love the gospel. I am thankful for my trials because of them I can grow and stretch and become the missionary that he wants me to become! I love the gospel so much! Also, HAPPY BIRTHDAY, GRANDADDY!!

I love you all!

Sister Clark

Leave a Reply

