A Week of Miracles

9-21-15

Hello again everyone! This was definitely one of the fastest weeks of my mission. Time on a mission is seriously one of the weirdest concepts in the world haha.

This week we were able to see SO many miracles. The past couple of weeks I have just been super frustrated with our investigators because none of them pick up their phones. 2 of them had baptismal dates that fell through, the list just goes on and on. I have just been praying for miracles and they literally poured out I swear!! Sister Smith and I have just really been focusing on finding a new investigator from the Square each day. It can be hard sometimes, but I have just learned to be more bold. I think my first transfer, I was timid, but now I don’t even care! I will tell everyone about the gospel haha. When we truly looked for that one investigator each day from the Square, we were able to find them! I’ll tell you a little bit about them!

Robbie: So Sister Smith and I have Tabernacle, (which is just a building) for an hour on Friday. We were standing in there just talking to people, and then we got a call that they needed a cover for the next hour of Tabernacle. So Sister Smith and I took it. Of course we were tired of standing on our feet, but being in the Tabernacle is also pretty sweet. I mean… that is where Brigham Young spoke, and every single prophet since him! So we see this young guy walk in probably like 21. He kind of looks at us and just walks in and looks around. Anyways, a little bit later, he comes up to us and just starts talking. He is asking us all these questions. He is going to University of Utah, and has been going to the Young Single Adult activities. He has read a little bit of the Book of Mormon, but is also super versed in his bible stories, which sometimes can be hard! Anyways, we taught him the Restoration and have a return appointment with him on Saturday here! It is always nice to find that investigator that actually lives here so we can teach them in person and not on the phone. Also, what better place to teach someone the gospel then on Temple Square?

Miguel: So I don’t know if y’all remember me telling you about Miguel, but he is the one that comes with all of his anti friends here on Thursday nights, but Miguel comes inside the Visitors’ Center. So we met with him on Thursday where we took him and showed him the temple model. Of course, he had a lot of questions. All of his questions,we would just turn them around and ask him the same question, and prove our point haha. It really is sad what his church does. They seriously spend hours bashing the Mormons, and MORE than half of the stuff is wrong!! But he has a BoM, but he said he is afraid to read it hahah I was like, “why, because when you read it you will know it’s true?” and he just laughed. He has a good sense of humor, and he really does want to learn what we believe. Anyways, we gave him a couple of verses to read from the Book of Mormon for next time that we meet with him. We just told him to read it with an open mind, and not with the things that his church tells him. Well, we got his number and texted him so we could pick a time to meet with him, and he just replied with such a nice message. Pretty much just saying thanks and that we really help him understand more of the church. Turning the anti’s mormon, ya know?

Yiming: Yesterday, we left our district meeting, where we talked about how important it is to get our new investigators in contact with the local missionaries! There is no way that these people can get to baptism without the missionaries in their area. So we seriously had just walked out of the VC, when Yiming walks up to us and asks how he can get a BoM. He is visiting from Mexico City! So we took him and got him a BoM. Right then, we introduced the BoM, the local missionaries, and church. He said yes to all three. We got his contact info, and sent it to the local missionaries. So exciting!

okay, last one! Abigail: she was raised in an anti mormon family, but just moved to Utah. Her aunt is a member, they came to Temple Square. Abigail was SUPER interested in the church. She wants to meet with the local missionaries, so she had her first meeting with them yesterday! Seriously, no one can deny the feeling that they get on Temple Square. So amazing.

Sister Smith and I were eating lunch at the Church Office Building Thursday, and when we left, Elder Bednar and President Nelson were walking in to eat. They were SO happy to see us!! We heard that they all eat there on Thursdays after their meeting in the temple. Even President Monson. He gets peach pie for dessert. haha he’s so cute. so yes, Sister Smith and I are going back Thursday…

General Conference is now less than 2 weeks away!! We all need to prepare to listen to the words of the Prophet and his apostles.President Uchtdorf said, “There are messages in each general conference given as a gift and a blessing from heaven specifically for our personal life situations”. I have been thinking of questions that I want answered, and I know that I will find those answers during conference. We must seek, so that we can receive those answers, and then we act on the answers that we receive. I love conference time!! I am kinda sad I don’t get to sit on the couch and eat junk food and watch it this time, but I will make sure to listen to all of the talks after conference. Really though, prepare for conference. I know that this is a time where we can receive the answers to questions. I have been making a list of questions that I want answered as I listen to conference. We are so blessed to have a living Prophet on the earth today with 12 apostles. Take the time to really prepare to hear their message. It is for each one of us. No matter who we are or what we are going through, we will get what we need out of it.

One quote that I love that I read this week is:
“When you choose to follow Christ you choose to be changed”
I have really seen this since I have been on my mission. The person I am becoming on my mission is because of Christ and because of my decision to serve him. I am so happy that I made the decision to give everything to Christ. Because of that, I am becoming the person that he wants me to become.

Moroni 7:33- “And Christ hath said: If ye will have faith in me ye shall have power to do whatsoever thing is expedient in me”.

I love you all SO very much. I love my Savior. I LOVE my mission. I love the trials that help me to grow and stretch and become the person that I am meant to become. I love the Book of Mormon so much. I love the comfort, the peace, and the knowledge that the Book of Mormon gives each of us. Really read it. Apply the teachings in your lives. Because of the Book of Mormon I feel so much closer to Christ.

I LOVE YOU ALL!!!
Sister Clark

Funny things from the week:
–we got asked “do you still sacrifice oxen in the bottom of the temple?”… seriously those were her exact words. sometimes i just want to go along with it and be like YES how did you know haha but don’t worry, i don’t do that.
–there was a homeless person argument outside the gate… oh my gosh i was seriously dying. i guess some guy took another guys spot, and he said “YOU DON’T JUST MOVE IN ON SOMEONE’S AREA”. i was crying it was so funny. i never realized the homeless people outside the gates had their own areas… but anyways, i got in on video on my ipad so you will all have to watch it when i get home.

Leave a Reply

