Ni Hao!

9-28-15

We had transfer conference today. I am moving to my new area!!! 2 blocks east to a new apartment hahah temple square is the best. my assignment this next transfer is still West Gate and I still have Monday p-day. My new companion is Sister Lee from MAINLAND CHINA (aka ni hao)!! I get to take all the Mandarin tours. I am so excited! I am sure I am going to be trying some crazy Asian food these next 6 weeks… cooooool.

We are preparing for Conference here on Temple Square. 23,000 people vs our 200 missionaries… A little bit intimidating, but I am excited. If you’re coming here for conference, try and find me!! I would love to see you all! For anyone who doesn’t know what General Conference is, it is when we get to listen to the Prophet and Apostles, as well as other leaders of the church speak! If anyone is interested in watching it, go to http://www.lds.org! It is happening this Saturday and Sunday.   Check this out for more on General Conference!

The church history museum opens on Wednesday. It has been closed since last year! We got to take a tour through it before though and see what it is like. I would definitely recommend that for anyone that comes here! They have this really amazing new video of Joseph Smiths “First Vision”. SO good! And the museum is free, so that’s a plus haha.

We had a meeting early on Friday morning. None of us knew what it was about, but President called us all in. It was a “call to repentance” meeting. It was definitely needed, and I learned so much from it. President truly is an inspired man and he knows how to help us to become better missionaries. We talked a lot about the story in Daniel 2 with King Nebuchadnezzar’s dream. We talked about how his feet were made of iron and clay. The clay is what made him weaker. As missionaries, we all have clay that holds us back from becoming the missionary or the person that the Lord wants us to become. He asked us if we are actually missionaries or are we just doing missionary things? There are so many things that I know I could be doing better as a missionary. I want to really work on becoming the person and the missionary that I am meant to become. I don’t want to hold anything back on the mission. I want to be able to say at the end of my mission, ” I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith”.

In our Zone Training Meeting Sunday, the questions was, “Who do I see coming off the plane coming home?” Are we truly going to give over our will to the Lord? Are we going to let him shape us into the person he wants us to be? I think this can also be applied to different times in our lives. I know that the Lord is never going to give us something that we cannot handle. I know that we have a Heavenly Father who loves us more than we could ever imagine.He wants us to be happy. I know that the only way that we can truly change is through the atonement of Jesus Christ. A lot of people associate change with something that is bad, but the only way that we can become better is by changing. I think I used to associate the atonement with something serious, but on my mission, I have learned that the atonement can be used every single day. If we aren’t using the atonement every single day, then we are not changing.

This week for personal study I was reading in Alma 26, which is pretty much every missionaries favorite Book of Mormon chapter I think. I know I have said this before, but I just wish everyone could experience how happy it makes you to serve a mission. To not focus on anything but serving others. My favorite verse says, “Therefore, let us glory, yea, we will glory in the Lord; yea, we will rejoice, for our joy is full; yea, we will praise our God forever. Behold, who can glory too much in the Lord? Yea, who can say too much of his great power, and of his mercy, and of his long-suffering towards the children of men? Behold, I say unto you, I cannot say the smallest part which I feel”. I think that pretty much explains what it feels like to be a missionary. There are so many hard times on the mission, but the little moments where you can truly feel the Saviors hand in this work are the moments you remember.

We got to go to Elder Scott’s funeral today. Of course it was so good! Just being in the room with the Prophet and the Apostles is so amazing. You can not deny the Spirit when you’re in their presence. Their testimonies are so strong. Their experiences are so amazing. One of the greatest blessings in this gospel is that we have a Prophet and apostles. Watch conference! Make a list of questions that you personally want answered, and I know that you will receive those answers as you listen to them speak. I am so thankful for the Prophet Joseph Smith. For his sacrifice. That through him, the Church of Jesus Christ was able to be restored.

I am sorry if this e-mail bored you guys. Nothing super crazy or great happened this week! But I do love being a missionary and I love my Savior.

I LOVE YOU ALL SO VERY MUCH!
Sister Clark

Leave a Reply

