The Greatest Miracle in Temple Square History!

10-19-15

hello again everyone!

i had such an amazing week here on Temple Square i don’t even know where to begin. so many miracles. so many tender mercies. it’s just the best to be a missionary. that’s all i can say.

i’ll just start from here and see where it goes, this email might be a little bit long, but just read it!!:

so in Relief Society on Thursday morning President announced that we have some general authorities coming to speak to our mission in the next couple of weeks. so we are all excited waiting to hear who was coming. well let’s be honest. i think all of us were hoping it would be this one person…and it is! Elder Holland is coming early Wednesday morning to speak to us here on Temple Square!!! i seriously feel so blessed that i get to be here on Temple Square, serving a mission, and hearing from these men who are so inspired. I just really want him to come in and pump us all up and inspire us to be better missionaries. so exciting.

okay, now onto the greatest miracle in Temple Square History and I really think that is true.It might take a while to explain but just read!! So Friday night, my companion and I had our desk assignment in the South Visitor Center. So we were supposed to be done at 7 and then we had dinner, and the next sisters that were coming, weren’t there yet and it was like 7:10. so my companion and i were super hungry, and were like lets call the other sisters. well for some reason i was just like no lets just wait a couple of minutes. pretty much right after i said that, a man from china walked up to Sister Li and started talking to her. Of course, I don’t know what is going on, but I could tell that it was something interesting. Sister Li looks over at me and says, “He is here to get baptized. He is only in Salt Lake for 1 more day, and this is the only time he has to get baptized”. so first off, i’m like well that’s not gonna happen. she is asking him questions and kind of finding out his background info and stuff like that. so he is from Mainland China where obviously we don’t have missionaries or anything like that, but the church is still there. He has been going to church for 8 months and has been taking the lessons from the area seventy there. so I called the AP’s, they came to the desk, figured out what was going on and then called President Poulsen. President, oh my goodness… he is just so calm i love it. here we all a bunch of girls freaking out and he is just so sweet and calm. he said that we need to just ask him some questions and see if he truly understands the gospel and the commitment of baptism. so we go into a room in the South Visitor Center and Sister Li starts talking to him. President gave her some questions to ask and the first one was, “why do you want to get baptized?”… by the way this is all in Mandarin. But my comp is trying to translate. I was looking at him and he just had tears coming down his cheeks. i started crying and i didn’t even know what was going on. He talked to her about it and we immediately called President and was like he is ready President. So we call the AP’s of another mission, just so happened they were on exchanges and one of the missionaries spoke MANDARIN!!! sooo, the Elders came to the Square at like 9:00pm and gave him his baptismal interview. we were planning for the baptism in the other room while he was being interviewed. He comes out of the interview just so happy. soooo Saturday morning at 10:00am, Brother Zheou was baptized. The whole baptism and everything was pretty much in Mandarin, so i didn’t understand it, and neither did the APs of Temple Square, but we seriously just cried the entire time. This is exactly why we served missions. for moments like this, when we see how the gospel truly changes someone. i was just so happy because he was so happy. we talked about all the work he has to do now in China because he has the gospel. He then took all of us to eat at this super nice Chinese restaurant. I ate rabbit… and frog… and i don’t even know what else. but man. i was just so so happy. i just want you to know that if my companion and i would have left and went to dinner, if President Poulsen didn’t speak Mandarin, if the AP’s in the other mission weren’t on exchanges, this man would not have gotten baptized. It is so amazing to see how the Lord truly prepares people to be in certain places at certain times and that he has a plan for each and every one of us. the gospel is just the best.

so it just keeps getting better. my investigators are the best. who knows if i will be saying this new week… hahha
So Drew the one that is in a drug rehab home, well he is getting baptized on November 28th! At least he said that he would if he knew that it was true. so now we have a goal that we are working towards so that he will progress and continue learning about the gospel. i really do enjoy talking to him though. he is so smart and his heart is so open to hearing the gospel. it is just so amazing to see these people that are prepared and how their lives change as they come closer to Christ. This is our favorite scripture that we talk about all the time with him because he has truly seen this as he has changed his life with the help of the atonement.
“And if men come unto me I will show unto them their weakness. I give unto men weakness that they may be humble; and my grace is sufficient for all men that humble themselves before me; for if they humble themselves before me, and have faith in me, then will I make weak things become strong unto them”.(Ether 12:27)

Last one I’ll talk about. so Ezekiel. I have been teaching Ezekiel for about a month now. He hasn’t gone to church or anything, but we usually have really deep discussions which I love. He reads the Book of Mormon and I always give him things to read throughout the week. A little background info. He is like 22 years old and is in the military, living in Canada. So I talk to him every Saturday. So on Saturday night, I was like “Ezekiel, what are you doing tomorrow?” He just says, nothing, so i say, “Here is the missionaries number in Canada. Call them and tell them you are going to church tomorrow”. He just is like okay okay ill try. so honestly, i kind of doubted that he would go. so Sunday, i texted him and asked if he went, and he is like, “I went to church. All 3 hours”. oh my gosh i was so happy. i never knew that hearing that someone going to church would make me so happy, but it does! I called him a little bit later yesterday, and we talked, and he said it all seemed right and that he would go back again next Sunday, and might meet with the missionaries. I was just so so so happy! Being a missionary is the best. i can’t say that enough.

Funny Moments of the week:
* my companion had a Mandarin meeting with all the mandarin sisters, and she was texting them, telling them what time it was and to bring “drug food”. i had to check it before she sent it, and i read it and was like what the heck is drug food?!? haahh she meant junk food… ESL is the struggle sometimes.
*one of my investigators is starting to creep me out… he asked if i wanted to come to Florida and ride bikes with him and eat beans and rice… what the heck
*this morning i answered a call from mormon.org and he asked if i had a minute to listen to something and i said sure… he played the Harry Potter song from youtube and i was dying laughing the whole time. some people.

okay, sorry for how long this email is, but one last thing. the scripture i am “ponderizing” this week is Isaiah 64:8.
“But now, O Lord, thou art our father; we are the clay,and thou our potter; and we all are the work of thy hand”.
let the Lord shape us into the person that he wants us to become. His potential for each of us, is SO much greater than what we think it is. Use the atonement every single day, and become that person that he wants each of us to become!

I just want you to know that I truly know that this is the Lord’s work. I am so humbled that I get to be on this journey seeing these people becoming more like Christ through the atonement. The mission is hard. But I am SO SO SO grateful that I followed the prompting to serve a mission. My life is forever changed. I love my Savior so much. I love my family even more now that I am on a mission.

i love you all so very much!
CTR
Sister Clark

Leave a Reply

