Bringing the World His Truth

11-9-15

Hello again everyone!

We had transfer news this morning bright and early. My new companion is Sister Danzo from Ghana/South Africa. She is the district leader too so that will be sweet! lots of exchanges where i can learn from lots of missionaries! I had to move apartments. I swear moving on Temple Square is so annoying. I am just moving upstairs of my apartment, but I still have to pack all of my stuff. I am going to stop unpacking now. Moving every 6 weeks isn’t too fun. My new assignment is Beehive House. So I get to be in my good old friend Brigham Young’s house every day giving tours. I’m way excited. I really wanted Beehive for Christmas because they put a huge pretty Christmas tree in there and it is so pretty. Plus the history there is pretty cool too… Also, my new p-day is Wednesday. So I will be on again this Wednesday 🙂

This week was seriously SO good. I know I say that every week, but I really do mean it. I just love being a missionary. This truly is the best work possible and I find so much happiness as I serve. Even when it is not always easy. President always says, “it is missionary work, not missionary fun”. Sooo here is my week.

After we emailed last week, we went to the old people home. it was so fun. they just live in these cute apartment buildings and most of them are members, but some aren’t. so we had a family home evening with them and talked about the Book of Mormon. we played Book of Mormon jeopardy. man, i finally know my scriptures well which makes me happy haha. but being with them just made me so happy. a lot of them are converts and told their amazing stories and i just felt so much love for them. this one lady was just so sweet. i don’t know what it was about her, but when i was just talking with her she just started crying. it is so amazing to have this love for people that you don’t even know. the spirit is real. it just makes me happy that i chose to serve a mission because the mission is what is teaching me this Christlike love.

happy news:

Sarah got baptized!!!! oh my gosh. i just love her. she is so amazing and was so prepared to hear and accept the gospel. it was pretty amazing to see the spirit work in her life, and how the atonement truly changed her. the day before she just texted me saying she was freaking out. so i called her and calmed her down. i shared with her Isaiah 41:10, “fear thou not; for I am with thee;be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness”. we said a prayer and she felt very calm. the day of her baptism was yesterday. i texted her to see how she was doing and she said she was just at the temple collecting her thoughts. i told her to read Mosiah 18. she is just amazing. we didn’t get to skype it because the elders said we couldn’t… but we talked after and i have some pics of her that i will include. she said,”there are no words to describe how happy i feel”. i just can’t help but smile when i talk with her. she already got her temple recommend for baptisms. she is gonna be one amazing member. her testimony really helps to strengthen my own.

Derrell: Derrell is cool! I committed him to baptism next month so we will see! We read the scriptures together which is something that I have found to be really powerful with investigators. I invited him to bring a friend with him to church Sunday and he did! They talked about how much they loved church and the feeling that they felt while they were there. My favorite thing to do as a missionary sometimes is to point out the spirit because i know that if i feel the spirit they feel the spirit. it’s so cool how the spirit can even be there over the phone. so amazing.

Ezekiel: ohhh Ezekiel. it’s kinda weird because sometimes i feel like he is just my friend. i don’t know. it’s weird. but he is doing well. went to church yesterday. read the BoM with me Friday night and always has really good questions. I can tell that he is changing. I can tell that his desires are changing and that he truly wants to receive an answer if this is all true. We talked about prayer and he has a hard time with it. He hasn’t prayed in over 9 years. I prayed with him before he got off the phone and told him to pray this week and see if it changes. I know it will because I know that we have a loving father in heaven that wants each of us to talk to him. I have felt his love so strongly as i have served my mission.

I read this quote from Elder Dallin H. Oaks today. It said, “the healing and strengthening power of Jesus Christ and his atonement is for all of us who will ask”. The atonement changes lives. We don’t have to be some awful person to use the atonement. It is for each and every one of us who wants it to change us. But it is simple. We must ask. Ask to be strengthened. Ask to change. I know it happens. I have seen it happen countless times on my mission, not only to my investigators but to myself. I love my Savior Jesus Christ so much. I am so eternally grateful for his sacrifice for each one of us. That he knows us each perfectly. One of my favorite scriptures recently is Alma 7:11-12. “and he shall go forth, suffering pains and afflictions and temptations of every kind; and this that the word might be fulfilled which saith he will take upon him the pains and the sicknesses of his people. And he will take upon him death, that he may loose the bands of death which bind his people; and he will take upon him their infirmities, that his bowels may be filled with mercy, according to the flesh, that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities”.

I am so thankful that this last transfer was the keystone transfer for the mission. my testimony of the Book of Mormon has grown so much and i now understand the powerful effect that it has not only on my investigators but on myself. there are some days when the Book of Mormon is the only reason that I make it through the day. I love the Book of Mormon so much. President came up to me the other day and just says, “Sister Clark, I can tell how much love you have for that book.” it is so true. i love those 500 pages more than anything. I know that if we read the Book of Mormon for just a short amount of time every single day, our lives will change. We will have stronger testimonies. We will have an increased knowledge of our Savior Jesus Christ. I went through the Book of Mormon and marked every time it referenced Christ or Christ spoke. There is not one page in the Book of Mormon without a highlight. I love it. It truly testifies of Christ.

Funny moments of the week:
1) this one isn’t really funny… but we were sitting in the frozen yogurt place across from TS eating, and the radio was playing and I didn’t know one song that came on… sad day. sad day.
2) my companion said about the mission,” it is like we are out of the world for 18 months and then all of a sudden we just have to get back in”. kind of true. very true. i am so out of the world it is funny.
3) this isn’t funny, just happy. Sister Fesolai my MTC companion is in my new zone so we have p-days together now!!! i am so happy.
4) i have to move all of my stuff up 2 flights of stairs tomorrow morning at like 6am… just picture that. just think of me. pray for me.
5) i am finally not in west gate anymore. after 18 weeks of being in west gate at the busiest time of year with tours i am finally done!!! finally. now onto hang out with brigham young, or as others here call it, the haunted house. crazy things have happened there haha
6) i answered the phone yesterday and a guy said, “i am looking for Mckay Elizabeth”. i was like wait the one serving in Hawaii? and he is like yes. i was like that’s my cousin!! i then told him she was home but i would give her his number. its just crazy. of all the people to answer, i did and he was looking for mckay!!

I am sad about this upcoming transfer. there are so many of my favorite sisters leaving to go outbound and I probably wont see them for 6 months because then i will go outbound. that is one thing i love about this mission. i love how close we all are. i love temple square and i know this is exactly where the Lord needed me to do his work.

I love you all so very much and I am so happy here. I love this work so much. Even on the hard days. I know that this is the Lords work and that there is no way I could do it without him. He is leading it. I love this gospel so much and I love that I get to share it every single day. Don’t forget to pray and read your scriptures. and smile.
Wo Ai Ni (i love you in Chinese because I am done with my ni hao comp already.so fast.) talk to you all on wednesday… haha
Sister Clark

Leave a Reply

