November 18, 2015

Hello favorite people ever,

let me just start off by saying, i have less than a year left on my mission… sad day. i have too much to learn.

soooo this week, not much happened. but it was a good week either way. seriously, i just love my companion SO much. we have so much fun together being missionaries and teaching people. we really do laugh all the time i love it. she also thinks it’s funny that i hate being touched, and she always tries to hug me before i get in bed at night hahah. i’m still the same, mom. still the same.

So cool story from the Square. We were out walking by the reflection pool the other day, and we just saw this guy sitting there. i was like lets go talk to him. so we go up and talk to him. at first he was like why are these 2 girls talking to me. then we just started asking him questions and getting to know him. he just got out of jail 3 months ago. we talked to him about God and Christ and prayer and I shared a scripture with him and then we prayed with him. i love that because of my mission I am able to really see people as who they can become. we are all children of God. We all have so much potential. we asked him to come back Saturday, so we could teach him a lesson. he is homeless so it is a bit difficult. we will see though.

so on to my people that I am teaching. well i am just going to tell you about one.

Ezekiel is seriously the best. We haven’t been able to talk to him for a few days just because of scheduling and things like that and then he had surgery this week, but we were texting and he just says, “not to bug you, but could you send me a chapter in the Book of Mormon that I can read when I feel better?” it really is so amazing to see peoples hearts change. to see their desires change. the Book of Mormon changes lives. It changed mine and it is in the process of changing Ezekiel’s. i am so happy that i get to be apart of that.

someone shared this quote with me the other day and i love it. “The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others”-Ghandi
i think this is so important, especially as the holidays are coming up to give back to others. serve others and i promise that you will find so much joy as you do.

So the other day during personal study i was reading in 1 John. I got to verse 18 and 19 and these are 2 of my new favorite verses. well they change every day so its okay. but it says,
“there is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love. We love him because he first loved us”. just think about that one.

Last night, we got to go see Savior of the World before it opens up. oh my gosh it was so good. We cried. We laughed. Just so good. The Spirit was so strong there. I loved it. If you’re in Utah, come to Temple Square to see it!

The scripture I am “ponderizing” this week is Alma 7:23:
“And now I would that ye should be humble, and be submissive and gentle; easy to be entreated; full of patience and long-suffering; being temperate in all things; being diligent in keeping the commandments of God at all times; asking for whatsoever things ye stand in need, both spiritual and temporal; always returning thanks to God for whatsoever things ye do receive”.
I really liked this scripture because I was reading 3 Nephi 17 this week. That is one of my favorite chapters in the Book of Mormon. I was thinking about how Christ wants all of us to become as little children. Then 3 Nephi 17 shows how much love Christ has for the little children. I love how he says, “blessed are ye because of your faith. and now behold, my joy is full. after he said these words he wept”. i truly am amazed at the love the Savior has for each one of us. So perfectly. I cannot even imagine. I love that through my mission I can feel his love so strongly. I feel so close to the Savior and that is something that I always want to feel even after my mission because I know that everyone can feel his love. Everyone can feel the power of his atonement in their lives.

Funny moments of the week:
1) the beehive house site guide that we have to learn is over 100 pages…
2) this week, i have met so many people that want me to marry their son, or grandson, or nephew, or friend and i am just like what… and they are being serious too. they are like you are perfect for him, what’s your email? how am i even supposed to respond to that…
3) yesterday, we were walking back to temple square and this lady was behind us. i started talking to her and was like man what did you buy because she had these 2 huge bags from Macys. She was like just some pillows. then we talked for a little bit and the whole time she looked so familiar. after we walked away, i was like, ohhhhhh that is elder bednar’s wife. duhhh. everyone was like “you should have touched the pillows. elder bednar will sleep on them!” haha

i love you all so much.
sister clark

 

Leave a Reply

