I’m Living in Thanksgiving Daily

hello again to whoever still reads these.

i can’t believe this is my last e-mail as a missionary for the church of jesus christ of latter-day saints. this has truly been the greatest 18 months for my life.

i remember so perfectly almost 2 years ago, in idaho, going into my bishops office to talk about serving a mission. man, i fought the impression to serve a mission for too long. i remember sitting talking with him, crying because i didn’t want to go on a mission. as i started my mission papers the next week, the greatest feeling of peace came over me, and i knew this was exactly what i needed to do.

a few weeks later, i get my mission call. thank goodness for modern technology. we had laptops and phones everywhere to call home. i read temple square, mom and dad didn’t hear, and they thought i was going somewhere scary. little did they know, i was going to a mission, where we have security watching us like big brother. and security here have become my big brothers. i love them.

i met people on my mission i know that i had met in the pre-existance. these people strengthened my faith in my savior jesus christ, and his perfect gospel. i went to san diego, where i met even more amazing people, who changed me. i can’t even name all of the people i have come to love, but they know who they are. i have seen a tangible light come into their lives as they accepted christ and his gospel into their lives.

i have witnessed miracles on my mission. i have seen the hand of god guiding me in all that i do. i am so grateful that during this time, i was able to truly come to know my savior jesus christ.i was reading about the experience of one of the pioneer handcart companies in the journey here…it sums up a mission to me. obviously not the same experience, but it is related.

“i have pulled my handcart when i was so weak and weary from illness and lack of food that i could hardly put one foot ahead of the other. i have looked ahead and seen a patch of sand or a hill slope and i have said, i can go only that far and there i must give up, for i cannot pull the load through it…i have gone onto that sand and when i reached it, the cart began pushing me. i have looked back many times to see who was pushing my cart, but my eyes saw no one. i knew that the angels of god were there. was i sorry that i chose to come by handcart? no. neither then nor any minute of my life since. the price we paid to become acquainted with god was a privilege to pay, and i am thankful that we can through with the absolute knowledge that god lives, for we became acquainted with him in our extremities”.

my mission was the hardest thing i have ever done, but i know that i came through with an absolute knowledge of god and his love for me and his love for every single person on this earth because we are all his children.

because it’s thanksgiving, i’ll make a quick list of things i’m thankful for:

-the gospel of jesus christ
– my heavenly father
-my savior jesus christ
-my family(who i get to hug next week)
-the book of mormon and the bible.
-my mission
-temple square
-my companions
-the people i have met
-my testimony
and so so so much more.

i know that this is jesus christs’ church. i know with my whole heart, that joseph smith saw heavenly father and jesus christ, and that through him the church was restored. i know that the book of mormon is the word of god. it has brought me closer to my savior these last 18 months than anything else and has been my strength. i know that families can be together forever. i know this is the way to peace and happiness for eternity. the gospel is a gospel of happiness, and how grateful i am that i found that happiness here, and that i can have that same happiness as i go home and apply all of the many things i have learned.

“an interesting thing happens whenever you attempt to place your feet in christ’s footsteps. if you really concentrate on trying to walk the way he walked-loving,caring,serving, and obeying each step of tahe way-one day you’ll look up and discover that his path has led you directly to the throne of god. for that is and ever has been his great purpose and mission: to lead us to our heavenly father so we can dwell with him in his heavenly home”.

thank you for your support, your love, your prayers, e-mails, everything. it truly carried me on the hardest days. i can’t put my mission into words, but know that i am so so so happy i came here. this is where the lord needed me to grow and become who he knows i can become. i love this gospel so much. i’m happy. truly happy.

i love you all and i will see you next week! what….
sister abby clark

 

Leave a Reply

